The CIPS Middle East Conference and Supply Management Awards 2020 on 30 June 2020 at Rosewood Abu Dhabi has been postponed - new event format or dates to be announced.

CIPS and Haymarket Media Group (who deliver events on behalf of the CIPS) have been closely monitoring the situation with regard to Coronavirus on a daily basis and the welfare of our delegates is always front of mind.

In this instance, we have made the difficult decision to postpone the event to the nearest suitable opportunity in the future or to present this as an online, virtual event.

We have not made this decision lightly but we want to ensure we can provide the best experience possible for attendees. If you have booked on the event your booking will be automatically confirmed for the revised date, or event format, which will be announced as soon as possible.   Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused and we thank you for your continued support. If you have any questions, please contact us.



Described as an indispensable part of the senior leadership team at Expo2020, Adam Bektic proved his mettle as a leader. He established and transformed operations, led strategy development, negotiations and risk management. He is currently procurement lead on all temporary event overlay requirements for Expo2020 and manages around AED 615 million of spend.

Bektic took on lead responsibility for the non-construction centralised procurement team for all non-real estate and delivery matters. During the past four years at Expo2020, Bektic has consistently exceeded performance targets, including a minimum 10% saving across packages procured, reduced procurement cycle times and improved compliance with key governance policies, processes and procedures. Year on year he has achieved savings on behalf of the event and in 2018 his average saving for temporary event overlay was 31%. Richard McGuire, vice president at Procurement Expo2020, praised Bektic’s “exceptional maturity and technical competence” as a procurement professional.

Click here to return to the list of 2019 winners